The Industrial Age

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Always Something There to Remind Me.”

A very underground genre of music was my everything back when I was in my pre-teen and middle-teenage years.  It was the genre, industrial music.

Every now and then I will listen to it if my mood allows.  But it brings me back to a time when things were a little simpler.  When music was my god and searching for life answers within myself was exhilarating.  It was also a time when I was most drawn to darkness; when I found the most beauty in dark things, and when I let myself feel the music most.  It would be hard to pick out only one song out of the hundreds that gave my soul a sense of peace.

I don’t mourn those feelings now.  But that nostalgia always gives me a reason to put a small grin on my face.  For me it was a time of wonder.  For me, it was a time when I was reminded of how diverse life was.  It was the first time I was truly understanding the soul in this body.

Leave a Reply

